top of page
  • theriverspost

Keep your beliefs to yourself

I am coming to you all because over the years I have had different parenting styles thrown at me from some of my older family members. I will cut to the chase… The majority of my family members or homophobe to the max power. ESPECIALLIY, ESPECIALLY, ESPECIALLY more so the men. So growing up the word gay was never really mentioned in our family and if a family member was gay you didn’t know about it, you CAN ASSUME but you would not get a definite answer. So in my family men can’t rolled their eyes, cross their leg and they should play sports, play rough, and not cry and if they do any of those things, they are gay. Period, no questions ask, Gay! So you know the men out here on social media playing women roles are really frown upon on. It makes me mad because those are not my beliefs and I feel if they are …. so… freaking… what… if they are? Personally (and this is just my take on this subject as a parent woman, African American and a person overall) I think it does not matter if you a male child (assuming they are trying to nip things in the bud) and you play rough, you are so tough, cross your legs, you don’t cry when you are hurt, angry, or sad, or you sit up straight, or you don’t roll your eyes or head, that does not prevent you from growing up and being gay. Don’t get me wrong I don’t really think you are born gay and this is debatable, but I do think that as you grow up you develop and you find your own way. What I do not agree with is allowing any child under 16 years of age should be about to gender identify. I think 15 and younger is way too young and they are still finding their way. To be honest 16 years of age is pushing it. But I do think we should allow our kids to be kids and grow up as such that way they can experience life and have an idea of what they are trying to become. I think as parents in this day and age we don’t allow our kids to grow up as kids and it makes them grow up too fast. I do believe that we as parents everyone has a different style in how they parent or run their household. I just do not like the fact they there are so many labels we try to throw on kids because of how we feel. So I want to open up the floor to ask you how do you feel about some of the beliefs were passed down to you, some of the labels we try and up hold and how you see things now in this day and time versus as we were growing up.

As always I am open to different blog ideas and things you would want to see from The Rivers Post.

Until Next time….



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page